Course Information

Logic

PL 320-01 | Spring, 2017

MWF 9-9:50am | Room: HU 050A

Dr. Jeffrey C. Witt | jcwitt [at] loyola [dot] edu | ext. 2947

Philosophy Department 050M

Office Hours: Tues 11am-1pm, Wed 10am-12am, Thurs 11am-1pm, and by appointment

Course Description

This course will introduce students to the basic components of logical arguments and then introduce students to the various systems of logic designed to formally analyze such arguments. Particular attention will be given to Categorical Logic, Propositional Logic, and Predicate Logic.

Required Texts

Hurly, Patrick, A Concise Introduction to Logic 12th Edition (Cengage Learning: Stamford, CT, 2015)

Course Requirements

In-Class Participation (10%)

In-class participation is a small part of your grade that typically makes a big difference. Participation means not only attending class, but being prepared for class and letting that preparation bear fruit in class.

In this class, preparation means completing the assigned exercise problems. (Unless otherwise noted, this means the "odd" problems for each unit.) While homework will not be collected, exercise problems reflect the kinds of problems you will encounter on class exams which are the bulk of your course grade. Thus to do well on exams, it is imperative that you commit yourself to completing the exercise problems in preparation for each class.

Most of our class time will involve going over these examples problems together. During class time, you will be called on to share your work for particular problems. If you are not prepared for a particular question, you are welcome to make use of three "free passes." Your participation grade will be reduced by a third for every pass beyond these three. Not being present for a class will count as using a pass.

Exams (90%)

Exam 1 (25%)

Exam 2 (25%)

Exam 3 Final (40%)

Final Grade Distribution

95% A, 90% A-, 88% B+, 85% B, 80 B-, 78% C+, 75% C, 70% C-, 68% D+, 65% D

Honor Code and Plagiarism

Students are expected to follow the university's honor code:

"The Honor Code states that all students of the Loyola Community have been equally entrusted by their peers to conduct themselves honestly on all academic assignments. The Students of this University understand that having collective and individual responsibility for the ethical welfare of their peers exemplifies a commitment to the community. Students who submit materials that are the products of their own minds demonstrate respect for themselves and the community in which they study. All outside resources or information should be clearly acknowledged. If there is any doubt or question regarding the use and documentation of outside sources for academic assignments, your instructor should be consulted. Any violations of the Honor Code will be handled by the Honor Council."

See the honor code for further information. http://www.loyola.edu/academic/honorcode.aspx.

Computer, Cell Phones and Email Policy

I ask you not (unless otherwise instructed) to use your computers or cell phones in this class. They are almost always a distraction: if not to you, then to me and to others. (If there is a special reason that you need a computer please let me know, and we can most likely work something out.) Students using cell phones in any capacity will find their participation grade negatively affected. If you find this policy frustrating, then I encourage you to watch the Frontline documentary: Digital Nation http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/digitalnation/view/?utm_campaign= viewpage&utm_medium=grid&utm_source=grid.

Course Schedule

Introduction (Hurley 1)

Week 1

Mon Jan 16 - MLK Holiday

Wed Jan 18 - Hurley 1.1-1.2

Fri Jan 20 - Hurley 1.3-1.4

Week 2

Mon Jan 23 - Hurley 1.5-1.6

Unit 1 - Categorical Logic (Hurley 4-5)

Wed Jan 25 - Hurley 4.1-4.2

Fri Jan 27 - Hurley 4.3-4.4

Week 3

Mon Jan 30 - Hurley 4.5-4.6

Wed Feb 01 - Hurley 4.7

Fri Feb 03 - Hurley 5.1

Week 4

Mon Feb 06 - Hurley 5.2

Wed Feb 08 - Hurley 5.3-5.4

Fri Feb 10 - Hurley 5.4-5.5

Week 5

Mon Feb 13 - Hurley 5.6-5.7

Wed Feb 15 - Review

Fri Feb 17 - Exam Number 1 (Hurley 1, 4-5)

Unit 2 - Proposition Logic (6-7)

Week 6

Mon Feb 20 - Hurley 6.1

Wed Feb 22 - Hurley 6.2

Fri Feb 24 - Hurley 6.3

Week 7

Mon Feb 27 - Hurley 6.4

Wed Mar 01 - Hurley 6.5

Fri Mar 03 - Hurley 6.6

Week 8

Mon Mar 06 - Spring Break

Wed Mar 08 - Spring Break

Fri Mar 10 - spring break

Week 9

Mon Mar 13 - Hurley 7.1

Wed Mar 15 - Hurley 7.2

Fri Mar 17 - Hurley 7.3

Week 10

Mon Mar 20 - Hurley 7.4

Wed Mar 22 - Hurley 7.5

Fri Mar 24 - Hurley 7.6

Week 11

Mon Mar 27 - Hurley 7.7

Wed Mar 29 Exam 2 Review

Fri Mar 31 Exam 2 (Hurley 6-7)

Unit 3 - Predicate Logic (8)

Week 12

Mon Apr 03 - Hurley 8.1

Wed Apr 05 - Hurley 8.2

Fri Apr 07 - Hurley 8.3

Week 13

Mon Apr 10 - Hurley 8.4

Wed Apr 12 - Hurley 8.5

Fri Apr 14 - Easter Break

Week 14

Mon Apr 17 - Easter Break

Wed Apr 19 - Hurley 8.6

Fri Apr 21 - Hurley 8.7

Week 15

Mon Apr 24 - Unit 1 Review

Wed Apr 26 - Unit 2 Review

Fri Apr 28 - Unit 3 Review

Week 16

Mon May 1

Wed May 10 9:00am - Final Exam (Cumulative)